Passion Projects | SFO’s Traveler’s Torch

Join Walter P Moore and Director of Seismic Design, Rafael Sabelli on YouTube Live to learn about how passion and a collaboration of dedicated structural engineers provide a one-of-a-kind centerpiece for an airport in a severe seismic zone.

Monday, May 17

3pm Pacific | 4PM Mountain | 5PM Central / 6PM Eastern

 

The San Francisco International Airport features a 220-foot-tall air-traffic control tower with an iconic, torch-like design that has become the symbol of the airport. This majestic tower utilizes an innovative self-centering system that not only resists earthquake damage but corrects it by restoring the tower to vertical after a severe earthquake.
The project is the winner of multiple awards, including the 2016 ACEC Gran Conceptor Award and the 2016 NCSEA Excellence in Structural Engineering Outstanding Project Award.

 

Set a YouTube Reminder for the LIVE EVENT

 

The event is finished.

Find Us

Address
123 Main Street
New York, NY 10001

Hours
Monday—Friday: 9:00AM–5:00PM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM–3:00PM

About This Site

This may be a good place to introduce yourself and your site or include some credits.

Menu